D.I.Y. Alteration! New Top.

Standard

A few months ago I saw this dress (http://www.modcloth.com/shop/dresses/satellite-the-way-dress) and I knew I had to have it. You must know that I LOVE all things space related so it was a no brainer…this dress WOULD be mine.

It was marked down from $52.99 to $15.99 but my size wasn’t available so I opted for 2 sizes larger. BIG MISTAKE. It was HUGE on me, like a muumuu. THE HORROR! Since it looked like crap on me, I decided to turn it into separates.IMG_1035IMG_1034

I haven’t done alterations to a garment before and without a dress form, it’s a nightmare. Luckily my husband humored me and put the dress on so I could at least shorten the sleeves and armholes.

IMG_1028

Look at that droopiness! So ill fitting!

IMG_1045

And of course, the sleeves were really long.

IMG_1091

Now it’s much more form-fitting and I don’t feel gross in it. I used black bias tape to hem the shirt since I cut it a little too short.

IMG_1093

Sleeve is looking much better now!

IMG_1094

YAY! Perfect length!

It would be really easy to make a skirt out of the bottom of the dress since it’s already a rectangle, but I’m not sure yet. Until next time, happy stitching!

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “D.I.Y. Alteration! New Top.

Leave a Reply

