Hexagon Quilted Placemat

Standard

IMG_1494

I have so much scrap fabric, it’s suffocating me. I’ve decided to do some small projects starting with this placemat using Star Trek fabric from a baby quilt I made a while back. Stitching a hexagon is much easier than I thought it would be!

IMG_1473

I started by arranging 4×4 inch squares in the order I planned on sewing them.

IMG_1479I sewed the squares together using a 1/4″ seam allowance and pressed them flat with a hot iron.

IMG_1484IMG_1485

Using a hexagon template, I traced it in the center of the squares. Since I have yet to find a fabric marking tool that is satisfactory, you can see the tracing. *sighs*

IMG_1476

Fleece is sandwiched between the top and back layer.

IMG_1483

LOVE the backing fabric. I would like to buy more of it for a dress in the future.

IMG_1486

I stitched around the tracing and carefully again a 1/2″ away from the original stitch.

IMG_1492

Instead of tracing numerous lines, I “guessed” by following the closest stitch and when I was getting to a corner, I pivoted the foot slightly and checked the spacing before I continued stitching.

IMG_1490

IMG_1496

I used leftover double wide bias tape in grey. It was a pain in the butt and the hardest part of this project.

IMG_1502

Complete! A square placemat. Not too bad considering I didn’t have a pattern. Until next time, happy stitching!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

