Crafturday: Catbug Shoes!

Standard

tumblr_mib5157ag21s5mqx8o1_500_by_fatguyoverthere-d69hykv

I’M CATBUG…SHOES! For those of you who don’t know, Catbug is the loveable ladybug/cat hybrid on one of my favorite YouTube shows, Bravest Warriors. He’s a super cute character that I heart very much so I felt he needed to be immortalized on a pair of shoes.

IMG_1416

Supplies Used:

  • Tulip Soft Fabric Paint in Scarlet, Turquoise(although he’s more bluish…whatever!), Black and White
  • 1″ Foam Brush
  • 1 Flat and 1 Fine Tipped Paintbrush
  • Masking Tape
  • Catbug Cutout
  • Marker or Pen

IMG_1415

I bought these canvas shoes on clearance for $7 at Target forever ago…they used to be camo with gaudy gold spikes in the back! Eeeeek! I painted them blue and purple with glitter to make a galaxy style look that I loved but canvas is versatile and you can always try something different!

IMG_1417

Center image and use a pen or marker to trace it.

IMG_1418

I cut out the eyes and mouth with tiny scissors and repositioned them on the existing tracing.

IMG_1419

He looks really creepy without eyes! We’re getting there…

IMG_1462

Well I just now realized I didn’t take any pics of the shoe being painted red…ooops. So paint it with the foam brush, using as many coats as you see fit. I used 3. Catbug has 3 spots each on his wings so I “winged it” and painted some big black spots randomly. I also freehanded his eyes. Before finishing, I outlined all the black areas for more definition.

IMG_1568

Complete! I already loved these shoes when they were blue but now I’m head over heels for Catbug!!

IMG_1578

Bonus pic with my sleepy kitty.

IMG_1573

SUPER BONUS! My “new” shoes and a painting I did a while back. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

