Roses are Red Dress

Standard

_IMG2540

Hello! Today I’m sharing this mash up of two different patterns that make this awesome and cozy dress. I love it so so much!

Seriously, the Sweetheart Knit Top pattern from Gertie’s recent book, Gertie Sews Vintage Casual is a new favorite of mine. I’ve made 2 tops from it that get lots of wear and decided to turn it into a dress. I’m so glad I did! I cut 4 inches off the length and used the rub-off method to make a copy of a RTW skirt. Sew them together and BOOM! New favorite dress.

_IMG2556_2

I purchased this lovely and vibrant rose fabric from Girl Charlee.

_IMG2558

In all honesty, I could’ve done an FBA but I didn’t order enough fabric and couldn’t risk a mistake. One day soon I’ll get it down and go back to all of my lovely cottons that are piling up in a corner in my room. Knits are fun but my heart is with cotton.

_IMG2559_2

In my opinion, the waistline could sit a little higher up on my waist. That is something I’ll take care of the next time around.

_IMG2557

Close-up! I used a stretch twin needle for all of the hems. Did you know there was such a thing?

_IMG2547_2

Until next time, happy stitching!

 

2 thoughts on “Roses are Red Dress

Leave a Reply

