Sewaholic Hollyburn Skirt

Standard

IMG_0262

Hi there! Last week I finally had time to sew up a Hollyburn skirt from Sewaholic Patterns. I’ve spent the better part of a week taping the PDF together and nearly went crazy(there’s A LOT of pages), but it was well worth it. I LOVE THIS PATTERN!

Quick and easy patterns make me happy and this one is just that. Pure happiness! I was also able to use fabric from my stash! Even better!!

IMG_0320

I’m proud to say that I successfully graded up this pattern using the slash and spread method (FIRST TIME EVER)!! I added 7 inches to the skirt but honestly 6 would’ve worked better. Since I’ve had issues in the past with grading I was very worried it would be gigantic. I got lucky. Maybe soon I’ll figure out an FBA! There were three views to choose from and I went with View B thinking it would be the perfect knee length for me…sadly it wasn’t and I ended up cutting 5 inches off. Bummer. Next time I will go with View C.

IMG_0256

I should’ve asked my husband to take a closer pic of the zipper! It came out ok, but my concern was the fact that I didn’t sew it close enough to the waistband.

IMG_0209

Half circle skirt=Happiness. I love circle skirts so much but they use up way too much fabric. This pattern called for 2 yards of 60 inch, which isn’t too wasteful. The fabric is definitely some sort of poly-linen blend. It’s light, airy and an absolute steal at $3! I love you, Savers.

IMG_0211

Loving the center seam and tabs! The tabs are such a cute addition. With this skirt you have the option of tabs or belt loops. I also topstitched pretty much every seam. Well worth the time spent.

IMG_0212

IMG_0259

Only sharing this because I thought this pic looked cool.

IMG_0321

Can’t wait to share my next Hollyburns with y’all! I already have a few in my sewing pile:). Until next time, happy stitching!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

