Gertie’s Pin-Up Sweater

Standard

I’ve had this fabric in my stash for over a year and finally got around to making something from it! Here’s the Pin-Up Sweater from Gertie’s book, Gertie Sews Vintage Casual.

This is definitely the highest cut top I own. Nothing wrong with that, it’s just going to take some getting used to.

This top is hands down the easiest top I’ve ever sewn. From tracing the pattern to hemming it only took 2 1/2 hours! I purchased this fabric from Girl Charlee and it’s a cotton French terry knit with minimal stretch. I traced a size 12 at the shoulders and graded out to a 16 for my bust and hips.

I am NOT happy about the back! I’ve lost a little weight and on top of already needing to do FBAs (which I didn’t do with this top…sue me) now I’ll be doing swayback adjustments. Booooo. The cons of weight loss.

Excess fabric that will have to be removed when I make this top again.

Until next time, Happy Stitching!

One thought on “Gertie’s Pin-Up Sweater

Leave a Reply

