Simplicity 8096 Amazing Fit Alphabet Dress

Standard

untitled (25 of 27)

Since I made my shirtdress, I’ve been inspired to just “go for it” and step out of my knit comfort zone. I’m so glad that I did! Introducing my $5 dress made from a thrift store bed sheet and pillowcase.

untitled (19 of 27)

I used Simplicity 8096 View C with a D cup. There are no changes to the pattern other than adding a dirndl skirt and it came out well. I was really pleased with the sweetheart neckline. The bodice is lined with black cotton broadcloth that I had in my stash for quite a while. The next time I make this dress, I’ll have to lower the bust point about an inch to get rid of the fullness up top. Lesson Learned. Other than that, I’m so happy about this dress!

untitled (13 of 27)

The pattern called for an invisible zipper but nah. I wanted a lapped zipper because it’s super easy and I’m super lazy. SO LAZY.

untitled (2 of 27)

I bought my fabric (an old bed sheet and pillowcase) at Savers for $3 and bought the pattern at Hancock Fabrics for $2. Can I say how SAD I am over the closing of Hancock?! I buy sooooo much cheap fabric from there and now I don’t know what to do. I’m pretty much going through my stash so I don’t buy more fabric for the time being. I’m NOT a fan of Joann Fabrics. If anyone has any online places to check out, let me know.

untitled (24 of 27)

I will leave you with me being silly, as usual. Until next time, Happy Stitching!

2 thoughts on “Simplicity 8096 Amazing Fit Alphabet Dress

Leave a Reply

