My Latest Love: BlueGingerDoll Odette

Standard

IMGP3259

I’ve been a fan of BlueGingerDoll since the release of Bonnie and Violet so I was really excited to find the Odette pattern on Craftsy’s Website. With the exception of some fitting issues, I LOVE THIS DRESS. I love it so much I have 2 more coming your way, with different changes each time.

IMGP3252

The Odette is “a fitted and fully lined bodice with bateau V neckline and a contrasting insert”. Also a seven gore skirt! This is probably the most figure flattering dress I’ve ever made. I made the dress with a higher neckline and omitted the insert. My stupid hair is in the way so you can’t see the V. It came out well. I purchased my fabric from BOLT fabrics in Portland, Oregon on our last anniversary trip. It’s Michael Miller’s Swan Dive and it was worth every penny. The cotton is so soft and luxurious, also on sale. Woo! Also, POCKETS! The bodice is lined with black cotton broadcloth

IMGP3262

The pattern called for an invisible zip but I opted for a vintage navy blue Talon brand zipper. This is my best zipper yet! I need to add a hook and eye to the top of the dress though. I tried so hard to pattern match but it wasn’t gonna happen. If I hadn’t spent so much time on the pattern matching, the dress would’ve taken way less time. I spent most of last Saturday working on it. I went ahead and made it sleeveless, even though I’m SUPER self-conscious about my arms…oh well! I’m so going to make several more and the next one might be chocolate chip cookie inspired.

IMGP3216

We went to the Red Poppy festival in Georgetown this past weekend. The weather was really lovely and the flowers were a sight to behold. I didn’t realize my hair was that bright! I love it though.

IMGP3271

More poppies! Until next time, Happy Stitching!

2 thoughts on “My Latest Love: BlueGingerDoll Odette

  1. Cheryl

    I like that it’s sleeveless. It looks great with your hair!! Can’t wait for the rest of the dresses in this pattern.

Leave a Reply

