December 2016 Wrap-Up

Standard

dec21-1

The end of the year came by so quickly, I forgot to talk about some of my favorite things I’ve made during December. Warning: Photo Heavy!

dec21-2

First off, I finally got around to buying the Cashmerette Upton pattern. The main appeal of this pattern for me is that the cup sizes are extended up to a G/H!!! As most of you know, I STRUGGLE with FBAs so it’s nice to just trace the pattern and start sewing right away instead of dealing with issues like I usually do (always accompanied by tears haha). Of course, I still have a few issues with the darts but that can be corrected. I just may have to lower the bust dart a bit. The waist pieces were cut off grain and they look like crap, Rookie mistake! It happens. I bought this Keepsake Calico at Joann for $5 a yard!

dec21-4

I used Size 20 G/H graded up to a 22 in the waist and hips. Also, I didn’t use a zipper! It turns out I can fit it over my head with no problem. Based on that alone, I do love this pattern. The front is scoopneck, while the back is a V. The patterns has a pleated skirt or gored skirt option but because of time, I went with a good ol’ dirndl. I made another red with white polka dots that I wore for Christmas. Pics to come.

dec21-8

Now onto an oldie but goodie, BlueGingerDoll Odette. It took forever but I managed to do an FBA of 1 1/2 inches, lowered the darts an inch and threw away the corrected pattern…..UGHHHHH WHAT THE HELL. Needless to say, I haven’t made another Odette since. Still messing with those damn dart bubbles. I bought this adorable Timeless Treasures Eiffel Tower Kitten fabric from Hancock (R.I.P.) and I really wish I had more. It’s very soft and super freaking cute.

dec21-10

I tried so hard to pattern match, only to mess it up! Whatever. It’s just too cute. I made a dirndl skirt instead of a gored one.

dec21-13

Theo!!! I’m glad the front bodice was to my liking.

dec21-12

A few years ago, I bought a TON of vintage zippers from Savers and this was my favorite. It’s a great color, is metal and is easy to zip when the husband is away, haha.

dec21-14

And this is why I don’t sew up many black clothes…so hard to photograph! This is a mash-up between Gertie’s Pinup Sweater and BlueGingerDoll’s Violet skirt with an added pilgrim collar. It took two attempts to draft the collar and I think it looks just ok. I was going for a goth look but I don’t think I pulled it off! Haha.

dec21-16

Yikes. The collar looks a little off in this pic but I assure you, it’s even.

dec21-17

Finally, the last make of 2016 is CAT LEGGINGS! I used Simplicity 8212 View A. I traced the XL size and it was too big all over. No negative ease at all. I ended up taking in about 2″ at the waist/hips, and 3 1/2″ all over. Luckily I was smart enough the shorten the legs beforehand by 4″!! Man, I guess 5’5″ is short. I bought this awesome four-way stretch from someone I found on Instagram on Black Friday. It was such a steal!

dec21-18

Thank you for all the views in 2016! I hope everyone has a great 2017. Until next time, Happy Stitching! ❤

2 thoughts on “December 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Cheryl

    Wow, girl!! You really have outdone yourself. I saw the sugar skulls dress and immediately declared it my favorite piece of yours. Then each piece became more amazing than the one before it. When I saw the cat leggings I was actually cussing out loud. Well done, my friend, well done.

Leave a Reply

