A New Moxie Verity and Tilly and The Buttons Coco

Standard

IMGP0500

Hello all! This is my second version of the Moxie Verity dress. My first was sleeveless with a split cowl neck and I loved how cozy it was. Of course I immediately had to make another, which I did…in December. I’m also going to share my Tilly and the Buttons Coco dress from Christmas. Read on for more info!

 

IMGP0502

I used size 2x for the shoulders and graded up to 3x, like the first one. I was going to sew a Peter Pan collar but I ended up liking how the dress looked as is. My skirt fabric is a scuba knit and the VERY last fabric I got from Hancock. I bought three yards and have enough left over for a top. The bodice fabric is a raspberry jersey knit from Joann Fabrics. I LOVE how full this skirt is! I did shorten the length a few inches, though.

IMGP0504

I need swayback adjustments but I’ve been in denial…You’ll see the Coco dress and know that one was ABSOLUTELY needed!

IMGP0538

Onward to Tilly and the Buttons Coco dress. When I first saw this pattern I was drawn to the Breton look. I wasn’t so sure about it because of the size range and the fact that there is no PDF for it. The paper pattern was a little pricey so I waited. and waited. and waited. Finally, I found it on the Modcloth website for $9.99. YAY! So here I am with my very first Coco. I traced a size 6 and graded up to 8. My Coco is without the necessary adjustments except for 3″ I added to the length. This is the 3/4 sleeve version with a funnel neck. I used a navy metallic French terry knit and it wasn’t stiff enough, hence the droopy funnel neck. The fabric is so cozy that I can look past the neckline issues.

IMGP0541

And here’s the back….holy swayback, Batman! I usually never wear this style of dress so I’m taken aback (haaaaaaah) by how much excess fabric there is! I can also see that a MAJOR narrow shoulder adjustment is needed. I have already retraced the pattern and made the changes, including a 2 1/2 inch swayback adjustment and a 1 inch narrow shoulder adjustment. Now I’m waiting on the PERFECT black and white striped ponte knit to make a proper fitting Coco!

Until next time, Happy Stitching!

Leave a Reply

