Double Simplicity! 8268 Joggers and 8344 Bodysuit

Standard

IMGP0564

Hey there! This is my husband, Nick. I came across a joggers pattern that I thought he would like and here I am to talk about it. Also, I made a bodysuit…

 

IMGP0562

Simplicity 8268 is a multi-sized pattern for men, women and children. I cut an adult size medium and took two inches off of the length. He chose a gray French terry knit from Joann Fabrics. I actually tried to talk him out of this fabric because it felt so lightweight but it was surprisingly easy to sew. Also purchased at Joann, black rib knit for the waistband and cuffs. I usually omit elastic on most sewing projects but it was definitely needed for the waistband on this pattern.

IMGP0561

IMGP0506

Gosh, I didn’t want to take these pictures, much less share them on the interwebz, but here we are. This is one of the latest patterns from Project Runway winner, Ashley Nell Tipton for Simplicity. According to the website:  Available as a tank top with a V-neckline in front, low scoop in back and optional ties or bands, and as an off-the-shoulder style with two sleeve variations and optional halter neck ties and flounce. I sewed View A and raised the back five inches because of my bra. Since I’m large busted, there’s no way I could wear such a low back bodysuit. I cut a size 18 and graded up to a 22. With Big 4 knit patterns, I’ve noticed I have to size down to get the right fit.

IMGP0515

I really love the design on this Nicole Miller remnant I picked up at Joann. It reminds me of lit match heads.

IMGP0516

-_-  I see some wrinkles under my bum but that’s partly because I didn’t use binding for the leg holes. As easy as this was to sew, I was having a bad day and took some shortcuts so I could move along. Also, the back was cut upside down and doesn’t match up.

IMGP0511

Raised back

IMGP0509

I need to make this pattern once more before I give my final thoughts on it. I’d love to make View F with thick straps that cover my bra straps. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this and until next time, Happy Stitching! ❤

2 thoughts on “Double Simplicity! 8268 Joggers and 8344 Bodysuit

Leave a Reply

