Jennifer Lauren Handmade Gable Top and Dress

Standard

IMGP2125

Hi everybody! Today I’ll be talking about one of my new favorite patterns, the Jennifer Lauren Handmade Gable top. It’s described as a classic 50s-inspired true slash neckline, a long-line body for extra comfort and three different sleeve options. Read on for more info!

IMGP2130

Both the top and dress are a straight size 22 with 3/4 length sleeves. I’m happy with the fit and the instructions were very easy to follow. For the top, I used a dark berry colored cotton knit that I bought at Joann Fabrics. This neckline though! I really love the retro feel of it. The only change I will make for my next versions is to shorten the top length by an inch. It’s just a personal preference.

IMGP2144

I found a super easy tutorial by The Crafty Pinup, Gable Top to Dress, but I recently saw that there’s an expansion pack for a Gable dress hack, available through Jennifer Lauren’s website.

IMGP2150

I purchased this very stretchy olive knit at Savers for two bucks. It’s very soft but it weighs a lot and the waistband is slightly dragging as a result. In retrospect, this fabric should’ve been used for a top or wrap dress but I was dying for a dress with a slash neckline. Speaking of, it actually lays right at the neck, but I was in a hurry to take pictures (it’s SO hot outside) and didn’t notice until after the fact. Sorry for the wrinkles! This is my first Jennifer Lauren Handmade pattern and I’m very pleased with it overall.

IMGP2137

Closing with a pic of my sweet kitty, Lemon.

Until next time, Happy Stitching<3!

Leave a Reply

